Hold on to Hope

“Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we cannot see.”  Hebrews 11:1. 

Those who suffer from chronic illness often experience Depression.  They feel trapped by their illness because their life will never be same again.  They feel alone because others do not understand their situation.  They feel fear because they do not know what affects they will have to endure.  I, myself, have had fear of what my quality of life will be due to my Diabetes.  Will i need to go on Dialysis, have limb amputations or live with blindness?  All of the thoughts and feelings of fear can lead to hopelessness.

As I wrote in my last post, during my second account with Depression, I lost my faith and tried to control the situation myself.  I was reminded to pass my burdens to God.  Having my faith restored also renewed my hope.  Once I put my faith in God the feeling of hope emerged.  I knew God was going to see me through the illness.  I began to seek help from the hospital therapy, felt the love and support of my family and friends, and mostly had courage in myself that I would overcome this situation.

Now that I have been through my third time with Depression and another year of therapy I have learned:  how to manage my fears and feelings about my chronic illnesses, what causes my Depression and how to cope, but most importantly to keep the faith and hold on to hope. 

—See my Inspiration page to more.

Until next time,

Danya

“I would like to express my sympathy to the friends and family of Robin Williams. R.I.P Robin — thanks for the laughs.

2 thoughts on “Hold on to Hope

Leave a Reply

