Do Not Grow Weary

The daily life of a “healthy” person is filled with the challenges of maintaining work, home, family and health responsibilities.  But for the person living with chronic Illnesses, those challenges are exacerbated by the need to comply to the medical needs of maintaining medicines, doctor appointments, and continuous self-monitoring to manage illness-related issues.  The “healthy” person’s body lives on automatic while the body of a person with chronic autoimmune disorders works in manual mode.  One has to do double work to maintain wellness because the body’s automatic system is broken.

Our body’s systems are interconnected.  If one system is out of balance it can create problems with other systems.  In my case, if I do not take my Thyroid medicine, my metabolism slows causing weight gain and exhaustion.  The weight gain can affect my Diabetes causing increased blood sugars which in turn can cause complications such as kidney dysfunction among others . And both conditions left uncontrolled can cause a worsening of my Depression.  I feel my life is like a hamster on a wheel, I keep going but I get nowhere, the illnesses will never go away.  I want to get off but my circumstances do not allow it.  Chronic illness is exactly that, chronic.  It does not let you stop and rest.  Caring for multiple chronic illnesses is a never-ending commitment.  If I stop to take a break, i endanger my quality of life and my future.

All my life I have lived with some type of illness and more recently, I live with several issues at one time.  Through the years I have battled with maintaining balance in living life with chronic illnesses.  I have had spans of “good” health followed by times of great weariness.  In the past year I have made large strides in overcoming grief which ultimately has lead to acceptance of my condition and courage for the future.  And yet, right now, my mind and body are weary.  My spirit though is encouraged by the verse “For I will satisfy the weary soul and every languishing soul I will replenish“.  Jeremiah 31:25.  I must preserve faith and restore my resolve to ensure a happy, healthier future.  So I will press on knowing, …“those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

I’ll keep you posted,

Danya

2 thoughts on “Do Not Grow Weary

  1. I admire your courage and determination. Our help is truly in the Lord. You have done remarkably well. Keep pressing towards the mark of your great high calling.

    Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

