More Discipline

Wow, I can’t believe 2015 is almost over.  I meant to post during the summer but never got around to it.  Where did the time go?  This year started out great but turned into another year of grief and pain.  It began with the passing of my father, then my two new medical diagnoses, then family members’ medical issues, and lots of aches and pains throughout the year.  I thought this was going to be my year.  The year when things finally go right and I can regain balance in my life.  Well, maybe I needed a year to transition.

One amazing thing happened this year.  I think I have mentioned before I was born with a rare condition, Nesidioblastosis.  It is an overproduction of the Islet cells of Langerhans which produce insulin.  My blood sugars would drop extremely low and I would go into a coma.  When I was six weeks old the doctors removed most of my pancreas.  This still did not solve the problem so I was put on an experimental drug and it saved my life, that along with an outstanding doctor who was willing to treat me.  Throughout my life I remained in contact with this doctor.  This year I was reunited with him.  It was interesting to share with him what I have gone through since my childhood and even though I have not seen him for over 30 years it felt like I had know him my whole life.

The holidays were quite different this year since my mother and father are gone, but me and my siblings continued our family holiday gatherings.  We got together for Thanksgiving even though our brother was in the hospital and Christmas was at our brother’s house, because he was still recovering, rather than going to our sister’s house in our hometown.  We cooked our traditional “Cuban” meal of black beans, rice and pork and we exchanged gifts.  One of the disciplines our parents taught was “family is always first”.  No matter what the situation is, we will always support each other.  (And not because we had to but because we love each other) 🙂

As I look back on this year I think,” I did not accomplish what I wanted”.  It is astounding how life events effect one’s performance.  Learning how to cope with the pain and complications of two new medical issues affected my energy levels.  I had to stop my volunteer program at my church because I could not cope with the additional responsibility.  Also, it is hard to be motivated to exercise when I am stiff and in pain upon waking up in the morning.  In addition, the mourning for my father affected me socially especially during the holidays.  I did not want to go to church for the special events.  These were two of my top goals this year, exercise regularly and be more social.  Even though life throws curve balls, I still need to find a way to continue with achieving balance.  So what do I need?  More discipline!  My parents’ favorite word!  I don’t think I have met any other people more disciplined then my parents!

Discipline:  control gained by enforcing obedience or order

Everyone always starts out the New Year with a list of resolutions.  Instead of trying to accomplish all of my 6M’s (see previous post), I am choosing one word to follow.  If I can be successful at this one word then everything else should fall in order.

My one word for 2016:  Discipline

I wish everyone a safe and Happy New Year!

In the words of my father (and Dr. Spock), “Live long and prosperous!”

Hebrews 12: 11-13

11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it. 12 Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees. 13 “Make level paths for your feet,”[b] so that the lame may not be disabled, but rather healed.

Go to http://oneword365.com/ to choose your one word for 2016!

Leave a Reply

