CHRONICALLY TRAVELING

Recently my husband and I went on a beach vacation.  For most people packing is rather light for a beach trip.  You need t-shirts, shorts, bathing suit, sunscreen, sunglasses, flip flops, and a hat.  For the person with Diabetes and other illnesses it is a little more complicated.  To make it easier and more organized, there are a few items I use:

  •  A duffel or carry-on bag:  I take a separate bag to carry all my medicine and diabetic supplies.  In the bag I put my pump supplies:  tubing, extra infusion sets, reservoirs, and insertion device.  I put extra glucose monitor strips and battery charger for my glucose monitor.  In addition I pack extra AA batteries for my insulin pump.
  • Medimemo pill organizer:  I found this box on Amazon.  It keeps all the pills in a case that is easy for packing.  I put all my pills for each day.  I can also put extra pills such as Tylenol and anti-inflammatory pills.Medimemo 7 Day Pill Organiser Medi Dispenser
  • Insulin cooler:  This keeps my insulin cool while we are traveling.  This can be purchased on Amazon.

Insulin Protector Case Insulin Cooler - Blue

Even though it takes some extra packing, one with chronic illness can still enjoy a great trip to the beach!

 

 

Interested in joining a Chronic illness Support Group in Orlando?  Visit my Support Group page to register:  Support Group

Leave a Reply

