DO YOU WANT TO LIVE FOR A CENTURY?

Last month my family celebrated my Cousin Raul’s 100th birthday.  It was a great reunion of over 300 family members we had not seen in quite some time.  We looked at old photos, took lots of new ones and shared a big Cuban meal together. It was quite a commemoration of my cousin’s long life.

This got me thinking, would I want to live for 100 years?  I don’t think I do.  My body is already quite tired of dealing with my multiple medical conditions.  I can’t imagine living another 50+ years. That would result in an incredible number of blood tests, medicine, and doctor appointments.  Of course maybe by then there will be some magical medical advances which would allow me to have a bionic body to rid me of my illness management.

During the party a family member gave a speech. He said the key to Raul’s longevity was that he stays engaged in life.  Raul has continued to remain an active member of a social club in the city where he lives.  At his reception, Raul accepted donations so light posts could be installed around the outside of the club’s building.  Even at 100 years old he is involved in the process of restoring a community.

I believe it is not the quantity of years one lives that matters, what matters is the quality in how one lives.  In The Bible, Ecclesiastes 5:20 states, “For he will not often consider the years of his life because God keeps him occupied with the gladness of his heart”.  Purpose is the key to having gladness in one’s heart.  God has given each person special talents and circumstances to share with others.  One should use these gifts to engage in life.  As long as one continues to seek God’s will, life will be fulfilling.

I often get weary of dealing with my medical issues.  Some days I feel like I cannot deal with all the daily activities of living while having to spend so much time on my health.   But it is my faith in God and my relationship with others that keeps me hoping for what is yet to come.  Whether I live another 50 years or just one more day, I will continue to follow God’s plan for me.  My purpose will keep me going through any challenges I face in the future.

One thought on “DO YOU WANT TO LIVE FOR A CENTURY?

Leave a Reply

